Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Warren Rotary Club Installs New Officers

Left to right:  Erika Spears, (back) Phillip Faris, Bill Fisher, Allen Morgan, Rex Jones, Tricia Wilkinson, Sue Wagnon, Sam St. John, and Judge Bruce Anderson.
Members of the Warren Rotary Club and guest met at noon June, 12th for the clubs weekly meeting at First United Methodist Church.  The program for the day was the installation of the club's 2016-2017 officers.  On hand to conduct the swearing in was Rotary District Governor and Bradley County native Allen Morgan.  Mr. Morgan grew up at Eagle Lake and is a successful businessman in Clark County, Arkadelphia.

Gerald Burton lead the group in song and gave the invocation.  Visitors and special guest were recognized and members made announcements.  Mr. Morgan made a wonderful inspirational speech on the importance of Rotary and the fact it changes lives for the better.  He stated that one person, one club and one organization can make a difference.  He talked about the influence Mayor Bryan Martin and former Mayor and funeral director John B. Frazer, Jr. had on his early life.  He also talked about his friendship with Carla Wardlaw, with whom he grew up.  His remarks were well received.

The new Rotary officers are as follows:
President-Rex Jones
Secretary-Erika Spears
Treasurer-Tricia Wilkinson
Past President-Phillip Faris
Club & Community Service-Sam St. John
Vocational Service-Bobby Acklin
International Service-Bruce Anderson
Sergeant At Arms-Sue Wagnon
Public Relations-Erika Spears
Club Membership-Tricia Wilkinson

The Warren Rotary Club has a long and rich history of service in the Warren community.  The club was founded in 1920 and has helped start other clubs in South Arkansas.  It currently consist of 24 members and six honorary members.

The entire membership expressed their appreciation to Rev. Phillip Faris for a job well done as club President for the 2015-2016 year. 

No comments:

Post a Comment