Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Lumberjacks Awarded Championship Rings in Special Event

It was a night of champions!  The Family Life Center of Immanuel Baptist Church filled to capacity with family and fans of the Warren Lumberjack 2016 Football Team who came to witness the presentation of the 4-A State Championship ring ceremony and special awards.

The celebration which was sponsored by Warren Bank and Trust, began with a delicious catfish/chicken dinner over which Brother Charles Woolley, team chaplain, asked a blessing.  Coach Hembree then introduced his coaching and support staff before beginning to present special footballs to those who made donations to the fund to purchase the rings.  ( John Frazer, Warren Bank and Trust, Maxwell Flooring, James D. Russell, Union Bank and Trust, ESCO, Shannon Lassiter, James Body and Glass, Bruce Anderson, State Farm-Joey Cathey, Dr. Kerry Pennington, Mark and Dena Jennings, Woodard Logging, Pines Broadcasting, First State Bank, Shane Morris, Lou Ann Anderson,  J. B. Brothers, Dan and Karen Gibbs, Jim White, Brent Higgins, Charles Woolley, Jerry and Judy West, Hank and Pam Wharton, Ronnie Higgins, Tim West / Ferrell Fencing)
The 2016 Championship Ring on the left proudly displays
the 15-0 record of the Lumberjacks.  Many players wore
their 2014 Championship rings to the celebration, also. 

At the beginning of the program, the team honored Nat Grubbs, who worked as a physical therapist with a large number of the players during the 2016 season.

Coach Hembree thanked and recognized the administration for their support and thanked the many fans and parents who supported the team all year.

Coach Hembree then recognized lettermen awards followed by special awards as follows:

All Conference:  Devonta Brown, Hayden Lassiter, Keemontrae McKnight, Gaige Watson, Treylon Burks, Braden Hargis, Davis Pennington, Dennis Daniels, Sergio Yepes, Joe Morris, D'Shawn Jackson, Will Woodard, Wallace Smith, Greyson Ashcraft, Luke Gorman, Carrington Gilbert, and Byron Person.

All-Arkansas Sophomore Team:  Treylon Burks

All-State: Dennis Daniels, Hayden Lassiter, and Byron Person

Outstanding Quarterback:  Hayden Lassiter

Outstanding Running back:  Dennis Daniels

Cecil Kemp Outstanding Lineman Award:  Gaige Watson

P. H. Herring Offensive Award:  Devonta Brown

P. H. Herring Defensive Award:  Carrington Gilbert

Most Passing Yards:  Hayden Lassiter

Lumberjack Award:  Will Woodard

Most Tackles:  Byron Person

Outstanding Linebacker:  Byron Person

Most Receiving Yards:  Treylon Burks

Cecil Kemp Outstanding Defensive Lineman Award:  Greyson Ashcraft

Outstanding Kicker:  Sergio Yepes

Most Rushing Yards:  Dennis Daniels

Wayne Wisener Outstanding Defensive Back:  D'Shawn Jackson

Following the presentation of special awards, Cheer Sponsor Joanna Young made presentations of Championship Pendants to the Cheerleading Squad.

The football players who were freshmen, sophomores, and juniors were the presented their championship rings.  Then Coach Hembree recognized each senior player and spoke and praised each individually as he presented each one his ring.

The entire program was live streamed by lumberLIVE and may be watched on demand through the nfhs network.
Senior football players and cheerleaders

No comments:

Post a Comment